Creative Commons License
ISLMA logo by Illinois School Library Media Association is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Save The Date!

No conference can be successful without the knowledge members are willing to share.
If you would like to present at conference, click here.

Still Need More Professional Development?

If so, here are two opportunities for you to attend and at the spring workshop even present:


Be Bold! Experiment

Friday, April 1 & Saturday April 2, 2016

The 2016 Illinois Youth Services Institute (IYSI)  will bring together Youth Services library staff from all across the state, giving them an opportunity to grow, network, and be inspired. This inaugural institute will be held at the Marriott Hotel and Conference Center in downtown Normal, IL, on April 1-2, 2016. Currently, Youth Services is undergoing a profound transformation as libraries continue to evolve and redefine their roles in the community. This two-day conference will bring together more than 200 children and teen services staff to share and experience best practices during these times of change. Formal sessions, vendor exhibits, and hands-on opportunities combined with the networking opportunities will create a dynamic and collaborative learning environment for all.   LACONI YSS  (Library Administrators Conference of Northern Illinois Youth Services Section http://laconi,net/youth) and the ILA in collaboration with RAILS and IHLS have developed this conference, which is for ALL librarians serving youth, including public, school, and special libraries.h RAILS and IHLS have developed this conference, which is for ALL librarians serving youth, including public, school, and special libraries. 

School Library Journal Day of Dialog 2016

Wednesday, May 11, 2016, from 9 AM-6 PM

Be informed, inspired, and entertained by the best authors, editors, and publishers in the industry. Spend the day discussing the latest trends and get the inside scoop on the hottest books in the world of children’s and young adult literature. Includes a full day of panels and speaker presentations by celebrated authors as well as breakfast, lunch, and a closing reception along with author signings, free ARCs and an opportunity to network with colleagues from around the country in an intimate library-centric setting. Get a first look at exciting titles due out this fall and walk away with bags filled with books and inspiring ideas for your libraries and classrooms.  Go to to register.  Cost is $58.96 per person or $95.93 with a one-year subscription to School Library Journal.

Congratulations to the following who were honored at this year's conference in Peoria:

The Honorable Jesse White
Illinois Secretary of State

Winner of the Crystal Honor Award for distinguished support of school libraries in Illinois

Stephanie Stieglitz
The Lane School, Hinsdale

Presented with the Past-President Pin to recognize her leadership and service to the organization during her tenure as President

Jason McCoy: “Gaming in the Library”
Deer-Creek/Mackinaw High School, Mackinaw

Winner of the ISLMA Upstart Award recognizing a school library media center’s achievement in planning and implementing an innovative or creative service which has a measurable impact on users

Lauren Otahal
Hinsdale Central High School, Hinsdale

Winner of the Esther Baker Scholarship for individuals working toward licensure to work in Illinois schools as a high school librarian.

Donald C. Adcock
Presented with the Lifetime Membership Award, given to honor his faithful, exceptional service to the association and school librarianship in Illinois

Bonita Slovinski
Lincoln Junior High, Naperville

Winner of the Polestar Award, presented to honor members of the Illinois School Library Media Association who have made outstanding contributions to school library media programs in Illinois.


The most current version of I-SAIL!  If you are interested in a framework to teach the needed skills in all content areas you will want to click here.

Remember these standards, benchmarks, and objectives are aligned to the new Illinois Common Core Standards, AASL and NGSS as well as the ISTE standards.

Start sailing......

Common Core Standards

The new Illinois Learning Standards incorporate the Common Core Standards.

It is important that school librarians become informed about these standards.  The state board has made a commitment to the concept and thus it is important for all to be involved and gives librarians the opportunity to take a leadership role. Read more


Member Login
Member Number:
Not a Member?
Become a member now!

Forgot Your Password or Membership Number?
Type in Your Email:

ISLMA Facebook
American Association of School Librarians
Illinois State Board of Education
Illinois Library Systems
Illinois State Library
Illinois Reading Council

Date Modified: 2/4/16

Home | Memberships | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Sitemap

Illinois School Library Media Association | PO Box 1326 | Galesburg, IL 61402-1326
Telephone: 309-341-1099 | Fax: 309-341-2070 | email

ISLMA is not responsible for the content or availability of any Internet sites external to the ISLMA website.